Left Continue shopping
Your Order

You have no items in your cart

DVDs sold at Golden Discs are for REGION 2 only and will NOT play outside the EU.


The Definitive Collection - Paddy Reilly [CD]


Product description

This career spanning, remastered 2CD set features many of Paddy Reilly's most loved hits including "The Fields of Athenry", "Dirty Old Town", "Black Velvet Band" as well as live favourites such as "The Rocky Road to Dublin" and "Carrickfergus".

Widely considered to be among Ireland's greatest folk and ballad singers, Paddy Reilly began his career in Dublin of the 1960s amidst the explosion of folk pioneers arising at the time. During his early solo days Paddy gained widespread popularity with his emotion filled songs of patriotism and story-telling of the working man, including early successes such as "Come Out You Black and Tans" and "James Connolly". Later Paddy would storm the charts with one of the most successful songs of all-time in Ireland and one that is sung across the world as an Irish anthem of the masses. The Fields of Athenry, written by celebrated composer Pete St. John, spent 73 weeks on the Irish charts following the release of Paddy's version in 1983. The song catapulted Paddy to iconic status, and he would go on to become a loved member of folk group The Dubliners ("The Wild Rover" collaboration is included here) and have many other hits including "The Rare Old Times" also written by Pete St. John and included here as a duet with The Dublin City Ramblers.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

1 The Fields of Athenry (2022 Remaster)
2 The Wild Rover (2022 Remaster)
3 Black Velvet Band
4 Will You Go Lassie Go (2022 Remaster)
5 Carrickfergus (Live)
6 Come Out You Black And Tans (2022 Remaster)
7 Farewell to Nova Scotia (2022 Remaster)
8 The Town I Loved So Well (2022 Remaster)
9 The Flight of the Earls (2022 Remaster)
10 The Rocky Road to Dublin (Live)
11 Deportees (2022 Remaster)
12 The Rose of Allendale (2022 Remaster)
13 The Crack Was Ninety In the Isle of Man (2022 Remaster)
14 My Lovely Rose of Clare (2022 Remaster)
15 Spancil Hill (2022 Remaster)
16 Limerick, You're A Lady (2022 Remaster)

Disc: 2

1 Dirty Old Town (2022 Remaster)
2 Song for Ireland (2022 Remaster)
3 James Connolly (2022 Remaster)
4 Galtee Mountain Boy (2022 Remaster)
5 Peggy Gordon (2022 Remaster)
6 The Rare Old Times (2022 Remaster)
7 The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face (2022 Remaster)
8 Schooldays Over (2022 Remaster)
9 The Old Triangle (Live - 2022 Remaster)
10 A Nation Once Again (2022 Remaster)
11 Scorn Not His Simplicity (2022 Remaster)
12 Sweet Thames, Flow Softly (2022 Remaster)
13 A Rainy Night In Soho (2022 Remaster)
14 Come Back Paddy Reilly (Live - 2022 Remaster)
15 Raglan Road (2022 Remaster)
16 The Fields of Athenry (Live - 2022 Remaster)
Production Info

This product is: In Stock

In-stock: 90% of orders are dispatched within 24 hours of purchase. Please see our shipping timetable here.

Out of stock: Enter your email address on the product page and we will notify you once the title is back in stock.

Pre-Order: will be dispatched upon the title release date.

Special Order: will take up to 3 weeks to source and dispatch.

If your order contains multiple types of product (e.g: an 'in-stock' item and a 'pre-order' item), the entire order will be held for dispatch until the Pre-Order release date or the 3 week Special Order window has elapsed, whichever is longer.

Please note: To avoid any unwanted delays, please order separately.


Become a member

Join our VIP loyalty club for perks, rewards and exclusive access to all our upcoming events

Already have an account? Sign In

Earn stamps for every €10 you spend online or in-store.

For in-store purchases download our APP on Apple or Android and just scan your receipts with your phone.