DRIFT Series 1 - Sampler Edition - Underworld Col Vinyl [VINYL]

Added to cart! View cart or continue shopping

What is 'DRIFT'? It's precisely one year inside the minds of Underworld. It's a journey that began on 1st November 2018 when the group released the track 'Another Silent Way' and set off with no map, no fixed destination and a simple mantra ('Drift is the opposite of 'normal' or 'usual' practice; we'll do this until we're dust.') 'Rick Smith and Karl Hyde's aim was to create and publish music and film episodically for 52 weeks and see where the journey took them. Within a few weeks, the experiment found its own path, prompting the electronic pioneers to react to previous releases and create new works accordingly. Over time, the duo's innate curiosity opened up a unique space in which they could experiment, learn and explore new frontiers - together and with others (including Tomato's Simon Taylor, Australian improv-trance band The Necks, techno producer Ø [Phase], Japanese noise band Melt-Banana, economics writer Aditya Chakrabortty and members of Black Country, New Road). During the 52 weeks, five self-contained episodes were released (respectively in November, January, March, May and August) - collectively, they formed 'DRIFT Series 1'. This carefully picked single disc sampler guides the listener straight through the centre of the project.

Disc 1
1. Appleshine - Underworld
2. This Must Be Drum Street - Underworld
3. Listen to Their No - Underworld
4. Border Country - Underworld
5. Mile Bush Pride - Underworld
6. Schiphol Test - Underworld
7. Brilliant Yes That Would Be - Underworld
8. S T a R (Rebel Tech) - Underworld
9. Imagine a Box - Underworld
10. Custard Speedtalk - Underworld


Don't miss all the latest news, offers and new releases in-store and online...

Made with Milk Bottle

Welcome to...

You are currently shopping on our EU site

Please select your store