Left Continue shopping
Your Order

You have no items in your cart

DVDs sold at Golden Discs are for REGION 2 only and will NOT play outside the EU.

CUBA: Music and Revolution - Culture Clash in Havana: Experiments in Latin Music 1975-85- Volume 2 - Various Artists [VINYL]

'CUBA: Music and Revolution - Culture Clash in Havana: Experiments in Latin Music 1975-85 Vol. 2' is the new album compiled by Gilles Peterson and Stuart Baker that takes off in exactly the same vein as the much-acclaimed Vol. 1 - exploring the many styles that came out of Cuba in the 1970s as Latin and salsa mixed with heavy doses of jazz, funk, and disco to create some of the most dancefloor-friendly music ever made! The music on this new album features a host of rarities from legendary Cuban artists such as Los Van Van, alongside Grupo De Experimentacion, Farah Maria, Ricardo Eddy Martinez, Juan Pablo Torres, Grupo Sintesis and Orquesta Riverside, most of whose names remain largely unknown outside of Cuba but have long been favourite club tracks and secret-weapons in Gilles Peterson's record boxes! The music on this album reflects the most cutting-edge of Cuban groups that were recording in Cuba in the 1970's and 1980's - all searching for a new Cuban identity and new musical forms reflecting both the afro-Cuban cultural heritage of a nation that gave birth to Latin music and its new position as a socialist state. Most of the music featured on this album has never been heard outside of Cuba.

Disc 1
1. Y Que Bien - Juan Pablo Torres Y Algo Nuevo
2. Por Que Lo Haces - Orquesta Los Van Van
3. Quemando - Los Latinos
4. Amame Y No Pienses Mas - Farah Maria
5. Muevete Con Las Fuerzas Del Corazon - FA 5
6. Como Arrullo De Palmas - Tambores De Enrique Bonne
7. Expreso Ritmico - Ricardo Eddy Martinez
8. Solo De Tumba Y Bongo - Los Papines
9. Aqui Estamos - Grupo Sintesis
10. Llegada - Los Van Van
11. Baila Mi Guaguanc¢ - Grupo Raices Nuevas
Disc 2
1. La Rumba - Luis Carbonell
2. En Casa Del Trompo No Bailes - Orquesta Riverside
3. Llegue, Llegue - Juan Formel & Los Van Van
4. Tu No Me Puedes Conquistar - Grupo Los Yoyi
5. Para Que Niegas - Los Papines
6. Cuba Va! - Grupo De Experimentaci¢n Sonora Del Icaic
7. Luces En La Pista - Raul Gomez
8. El 4-5-6 - Los Brito
9. Tema De El Rancheador De La Naturaleza - Leo Brouwer
10. La 132 - Ricardo Eddy Martinez
11. Finalizo Un Amor - Los Reyes 73

Production Info

This product is: in-stock

In-stock: 90% of orders are dispatched within 24 hours of purchase. Please see our shipping timetable here.

Out of stock: Enter your email address on the product page and we will notify you once the title is back in stock.

Pre-Order: will be dispatched upon the title release date.

Special Order: will take up to 3 weeks to source and dispatch.

If your order contains multiple types of product (e.g: an 'in-stock' item and a 'pre-order' item), the entire order will be held for dispatch until the Pre-Order release date or the 3 week Special Order window has elapsed, whichever is longer.

Please note: To avoid any unwanted delays, please order separately.

Become a member

Join our VIP loyalty club for perks, rewards and exclusive access to all our upcoming events

Already have an account? Sign In

Earn stamps for every €10 you spend online or in-store.

For in-store purchases download our APP on Apple or Android and just scan your receipts with your phone.