Left Continue shopping
Your Order

You have no items in your cart

DVDs sold at Golden Discs are for REGION 2 only and will NOT play outside the EU.


Another Side of John Coltrane - John Coltrane [CD]

This collection showcases some of Coltrane's best recordings as a side artist and features collaborations with such jazz greats as Miles Davis, Thelonious Monk, Sonny Rollins, Tadd Dameron, and Art Taylor. Primarily focusing on Coltrane's recordings as side man from 1956 and 1957 on the Prestige, Riverside, and Jazzland labels, it also includes a guest appearance (and legendary tenor saxophone solo) with Miles Davis on the track 'Someday My Prince Will Come' (from the 1961 Miles Davis Columbia album of the same title). The liner notes were written by Doug Ramsey, winner of the Jazz Journalists Association's Lifetime Achievement Award. Ramsey is the author of the award-winning biography Take Five, The Public and Private Lives of Paul Desmond. His other awards include two ASCAP Deems Taylors.

Disc 1
1. Tenor Madness - Sonny Rollins Quartet (12.08)
2. 'Round Midnight - Miles Davis and the Modern Jazz Giants (5.22)
3. Oleo - The Miles Davis Quintet (6.17)
4. Airegin - The Miles Davis Quintet (4.21)
5. Soultrane - Tadd Dameron with John Coltrane (5.22)
6. C.T.A. - Art Taylor (4.39)
7. Monk's Mood - Thelonious Monk (7.48)
8. Epistrophy - Thelonious Monk with John Coltrane (3.07)
9. Trinkle, Tinkle - Thelonious Monk with John Coltrane (6.39)
10. Billie's Bounce - The Red Garland Quintet with John Coltrane (9.21)
11. Someday My Prince Will Come - Miles Davis (9.02)

Production Info

This product is: In Stock

In-stock: 90% of orders are dispatched within 24 hours of purchase. Please see our shipping timetable here.

Out of stock: Enter your email address on the product page and we will notify you once the title is back in stock.

Pre-Order: will be dispatched upon the title release date.

Special Order: will take up to 3 weeks to source and dispatch.

If your order contains multiple types of product (e.g: an 'in-stock' item and a 'pre-order' item), the entire order will be held for dispatch until the Pre-Order release date or the 3 week Special Order window has elapsed, whichever is longer.

Please note: To avoid any unwanted delays, please order separately.

SKU: 7205356

Become a member

Join our VIP loyalty club for perks, rewards and exclusive access to all our upcoming events

Already have an account? Sign In

Earn stamps for every €10 you spend online or in-store.

For in-store purchases download our APP on Apple or Android and just scan your receipts with your phone.