Genius + Soul = Jazz - Ray Charles [Vinyl]

Added to cart! View cart or continue shopping

Recorded at the Van Gelder Studios in late 1960, 'Genius + Soul = Jazz' was one of the first four albums released on the Impulse! label. It was produced by Creed Taylor and includes hard-blowing arrangements by Quincy Jones and Ralph Burns. Charles switched from his usual electric piano to a 'churchy' sounding Hammond organ and brought in the majority of Count Basie's band including trumpeters Thad Jones and Joe Newman, tenor saxophonists Billy Mitchell and Frank Wess, guitarist Freddie Green and drummer Sonny Payne. The record ascended to the No. 4 spot on Billboard's pop album chart and spawned the very first singles on Impulse! helping to put the label on the map.

Disc 1
1. From the Heart - Ray Charles (3.35)
2. I've Got News for You - Ray Charles (4.32)
3. Moanin' - Ray Charles (3.21)
4. Let's Go - Ray Charles (2.43)
5. One Mint Julep - Ray Charles (3.09)
6. I'm Gonna Move to the Outskirts of Town - Ray Charles (3.46)
7. Stompin' Room Only - Ray Charles (3.48)
8. Mister C. - Ray Charles (4.33)
9. Strike Up the Band - Ray Charles (3.39)
10. Birth of the Blues - Ray Charles (5.16)


Don't miss all the latest news, offers and new releases in-store and online...

Made with Milk Bottle

Welcome to...

You are currently shopping on our EU site

Please select your store

Become a member

Join our high fidelity club for perks and exclusive rewards.

Already have an account? Sign In

Earn stamps for every €10 you spend online or in-store.

For in-store purchases download our APP on Apple or Android and just scan your receipts with your phone.