DVDs sold at Golden Discs are for REGION 2 only and will NOT play outside the EU.

Welcome to the Cruel World - Ben Harper [VINYL]

25th anniversary edition of Ben Harper's debut album. 'The full range of Ben Harper's influences would not come to bear until later albums, but his debut, 'Welcome to the Cruel World', lays a strong foundation. 'Like a King' and 'Take That Attitude to Your Grave' burn with a political conviction rarely heard during the 1990s. 'Forever' has a tenderness which demonstrates Harper's emotional range. Lackluster hippie jams that cultivated his early following may have served a purpose but feel fluffy by comparison when compared to the meatier tracks. Ben closes the album with a song that frequently closes his concerts, 'I'll Rise'. This song, built around Maya Angelou's 1979 poem 'And Still I Rise', reminds one of art's ability to pierce through society, self, and the soul' - Allmusic

Disc 1
1. The Three of Us - Ben Harper (2.36)
2. Whipping Boy - Ben Harper (5.31)
3. Breakin' Down - Ben Harper (4.01)
4. Don't Take That Attitude to Your Grave - Ben Harper (4.25)
5. Waiting On an Angel - Ben Harper (3.54)
6. Mama's Got a Girlfriend Now - Ben Harper (2.29)
7. Forever - Ben Harper (3.24)
Disc 2
1. Like a King - Ben Harper (4.18)
2. Pleasure and Pain - Ben Harper (3.47)
3. Walk Away - Ben Harper (3.50)
4. How Many Miles Must We March - Ben Harper (3.09)
5. Welcome to the Cruel World - Ben Harper (5.37)
6. I'll Rise - Ben Harper (6.17)


Don't miss all the latest news, offers and new releases in-store and online...

Made with Milk Bottle

Welcome to...

You are currently shopping on our EU site

Please select your store

Become a member

Join our high fidelity club for perks and exclusive rewards.

Already have an account? Sign In

Earn stamps for every €10 you spend online or in-store.

For in-store purchases download our APP on Apple or Android and just scan your receipts with your phone.