The Black Album: - Lee Scratch Perry [VINYL]

Added to cart! View cart or continue shopping

Over 2017 and 2018, Lee 'Scratch' Perry reunited with producer and mixer Daniel Boyle, to work on this solo album. Picking up where their last effort 'Back On the Controls' left off, Lee wanted to continue the raw analogue sound they had cultivated together over multiple past releases, and take it to the next level with new effects devices to create another sonic signature. They entered the studio in 2017, to begin to put together ideas for the tracks, which were then taken to RAK studios in London with their ever-changing Rolling Lion All Stars session band; to lay down the rhythm versions. Using strictly vintage analogue equipment, they employed Neuman valve and RCA Ribbon microphones, and RAK's early model vintage API desk to record, the 'sound' for the album was sculpted in these sessions. Vintage, but punchy, which was then blended with Lee's choice of super rare and custom analogue effects. Ursa Major Space Station and Stargate delays and reverbs, old choruses, Plate and spring reverbs, and tape delays were used to create a tight vintage feel but retaining the rawness of the 'Low Fi' roots sound Lee was aiming for.

Disc 1
1. Mr Brown in Town - Lee Scratch Perry
2. Mr Brown Dub - Lee Scratch Perry
3. Trendsetter - Lee Scratch Perry
4. Trendsetting Dub - Lee Scratch Perry
5. Your Shadow Is Black - Lee Scratch Perry
6. Your Shadow Is Dub - Lee Scratch Perry
7. Dead Meat - Lee Scratch Perry
8. Dead Meat Dub - Lee Scratch Perry
9. Dub at Abbey Road - Lee Scratch Perry
10. Abbey Road Version - Lee Scratch Perry
11. Bumpy Road of Life - Lee Scratch Perry
12. Dumpy Dub - Lee Scratch Perry
13. Captain Perry - Lee Scratch Perry
14. Captain Dub - Lee Scratch Perry
15. Killing Dancehall Softly - Lee Scratch Perry
16. Killing Version - Lee Scratch Perry
17. Solid State Communication - Lee Scratch Perry
18. Solid State Dub - Lee Scratch Perry


Don't miss all the latest news, offers and new releases in-store and online...

Made with Milk Bottle

Welcome to...

You are currently shopping on our EU site

Please select your store

Become a member

Join our high fidelity club for perks and exclusive rewards.

Already have an account? Sign In

Earn stamps for every €10 you spend online or in-store.

For in-store purchases download our APP on Apple or Android and just scan your receipts with your phone.