Left Continue shopping
Your Order

You have no items in your cart

DVDs sold at Golden Discs are for REGION 2 only and will NOT play outside the EU.


Fat Pop (Volume 1) - Paul Weller [CD Deluxe Edition]

16th solo studio album by the English singer-songwriter, released just under twelve months after June 2020's magnificent, chart-topping 'On Sunset'. During the spring of 2020, after his tour dates were postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Paul Weller needed something else to focus on. With many ideas for new songs stored on his phone, he started to record them on his own with just vocals, piano and guitar, which he'd send to his core band members (drummer Ben Gordelier, Steve Cradock on guitar and bassist Andy Crofts) to add their parts. Despite it being strange not being together, it kept the wheels rolling and sanity prevailing. The band reconvened at Weller's Black Barn studio in Surrey when restrictions were lifted to finish the work with the shape of the album becoming clear to all. 'Fat Pop (Volume 1)' - Paul adding the 'Volume 1' to keep options open for a second volume in the future - is a diverse selection of sounds. No one style dominates. There's the synth-heavy, future-wave strut of 'Cosmic Fringes', the stately balladeering of 'Still Glides the Stream' (co-written with Cradock), the chunky percussive groove of 'Moving Canvas' (a tribute to Iggy Pop no less), and the kind of dramatic immediate pop symphonies on 'Failed', 'True' and 'Shades of Blue' with which Paul Weller has hooked in generation after generation of devotee. As ever, 'Fat Pop' sees a number of guests contributing including Lia Metcalfe, the young Liverpudlian singer with The Mysterines who combines her tremendous vocal as well as a song writing credit to 'True'. Andy Fairweather Low adds his distinctive vocals to superfly strutting 'Testify' and Paul's daughter Leah co-wrote and features on the classic 3 minute pop kitchen sink drama 'Shades of Blue', which is the first single taken from the album. Hannah Peel is back in the fray adding her classic string scores to 'Cobweb Connections' and 'Still Glides the Stream'. This box set edition includes a second disc which features ten live tracks taken from Weller's 2020 concert at Mid-Sömmer Musik in London, and a third disc featuring six additional bonus tracks.

Disc 1
1. Cosmic Fringes - Paul Weller
2. True - Paul Weller
3. Fat Pop - Paul Weller
4. Shades of Blue - Paul Weller
5. Glad Times - Paul Weller
6. Cobweb/Connections - Paul Weller
7. Testify - Paul Weller
8. That Pleasure - Paul Weller
9. Failed - Paul Weller
10. Moving Canvas - Paul Weller
11. In Better Times - Paul Weller
12. Still Glides the Stream - Paul Weller
Disc 2
1. On Sunset (Live from Mid-S”mmer Musik, London, 2020) - Paul Weller
2. Old Father Tyme (Live from Mid-S”mmer Musik, London, 2020) - Paul Weller
3. Moving Canvas (Live from Mid-S”mmer Musik, London, 2020) - Paul Weller
4. Failed (Live from Mid-S”mmer Musik, London, 2020) - Paul Weller
5. Village (Live from Mid-S”mmer Musik, London, 2020) - Paul Weller
6. More (Live from Mid-S”mmer Musik, London, 2020) - Paul Weller
7. Testify (Live from Mid-S”mmer Musik, London, 2020) - Paul Weller
8. Still Glides the Stream (Live from Mid-S”mmer Musik, London, 2020) - Paul Weller
9. Rockets (Live from Mid-S”mmer Musik, London, 2020) - Paul Weller
10. Mayfly (Live from Mid-S”mmer Musik, London, 2020) - Paul Weller
Disc 3
1. Round the Floor (Bonus Track) - Paul Weller
2. Serafina (Bonus Track) - Paul Weller
3. Crowboy (Bonus Track) - Paul Weller
4. Into the Sea (Bonus Track) - Paul Weller
5. Pure Sound (Bonus Track) - Paul Weller
6. Fat Mix (Bonus Track) - Paul Weller

Production Info

This product is: in-stock.

In-stock: 90% of orders are dispatched within 24 hours of purchase. Please see our shipping timetable here.

Out of stock: Enter your email address on the product page and we will notify you once the title is back in stock.

Pre-Order: will be dispatched upon the title release date.

Special Order: will take up to 3 weeks to source and dispatch.

If your order contains multiple types of product (e.g: an 'in-stock' item and a 'pre-order' item), the entire order will be held for dispatch until the Pre-Order release date or the 3 week Special Order window has elapsed, whichever is longer.

Please note: To avoid any unwanted delays, please order separately.

Become a member

Join our high fidelity club for perks and exclusive rewards.

Already have an account? Sign In

Earn stamps for every €10 you spend online or in-store.

For in-store purchases download our APP on Apple or Android and just scan your receipts with your phone.